Office of the Governor

Pandemic Resurgence Advisory Committee

Governor Carney signed Executive Order #39, creating a Pandemic Resurgence Advisory Committee (PRAC) to plan for a potentially dangerous resurgence of COVID-19 in fall 2020. Lieutenant Governor Bethany Hall-Long and Secretary of State Jeff Bullock co-chair the PRAC, which has three subcommittees: health, equity, and business.


Pandemic Resurgence Advisory Committee’s Final Report

Delaware pandemic advisory committee interim report cover
View Now Español Kreyòl Ayisyen

Detailed Subcommittee Recommendations

Pandemic Resurgence Advisory Committee Recommendations Cover
View Now Español Kreyòl Ayisyen



Goals of PRAC

  • Develop a healthcare system and public health strategy that’s ready in case of a resurgence of COVID-19;
  • Identify tactics and resources to manage a resurgence of COVID-19 including, but not limited to testing capabilities, personal protective equipment (PPE), social distancing, economic recovery and health facility readiness; and
  • Assess methods to protect vulnerable populations and consider disproportionate effects on minority-owned businesses in the event of a resurgence of COVID-19.

The PRAC was tasked with producing and submitting two written reports of its findings and recommendations to the Governor – the first on July 31, and the second on September 30.
View Interim Report and Recommendations:
Interim Report  |   Español  |  Kreyòl Ayisyen 
Interim Recommendations  |   Español   Kreyòl Ayisyen 



Subcommittees & Members

Click on subcommittee to view membership list

  • Chair: Dr. Nancy Fan, Chair of the Delaware Health Care Commission
  • Dr. Karyl Rattay, Director of the Delaware Division of Public Health
  • AJ Schall, Director of the Delaware Emergency Management Agency
  • State Senator Bryan Townsend
  • State Representative Dave Bentz
  • State Senator Ernie Lopez
  • Representative Steve Smyk
  • Mickey Carroll, Nursing House Administrator of the New Castle Health & Rehabilitation Center
  • Vickie Cox, VP – Director of Operations of Genesis Health Care
  • Dr. David Tam, President and Chief Executive Officer of Beebe Healthcare
  • Janice E. Nevin, M.D., MPH, President and Chief Executive Officer of ChristianaCare Health System
  • Dr. Joseph Straight, President of the Medical Society of Delaware
  • Chair: Eugene Young, President, Metropolitan Urban League of Wilmington
  • Commissioner Claire DeMatteis, Delaware Department of Correction
  • Director Anas Ben Addi, Delaware State Housing Authority
  • Chief Information Officer James Collins, Delaware Department of Technology and Information
  • State Senator Elizabeth Lockman
  • State Representative Sherry Dorsey-Walker
  • Senator Gerald Hocker
  • State Representative Lyndon Yearick
  • Rev. Rita Paige, Pastor of New Beginnings Community AME Church
  • Freeman Williams, NAACP State Conference Executive Member and former Superintendent of the Christina School District
  • Lolita Lopez, President and Chief Executive Officer of Westside Family Healthcare
  • Van Hampton, President and Chief Executive Officer of True Access capital
  • Maria Matos, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Latin American Community Center
  • LeRoi S. Hicks, MD, MPH, FACP, Wilmington Hospital Hugh R. Sharp Jr. Chair, Department of Medicine Physician Leader, Value Institute Professor of Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Rosa Rivera, Chief Operations Officer of La Red Health Center
  • Jane Hovington, NAACP State Conference Executive Member and President of the Richard Allen Coalition
  • Dr. Josh Thomas, Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director of NAMI Delaware
    • Chair: Katie Wilkinson, Chair of the Board of Directors, Delaware State Chamber of Commerce
    • Secretary Jen Cohan, Delaware Department of Transportation
    • State Senator Nicole Poore
    • State Representative Bill Bush
    • State Senator Dave Wilson
    • State Representative Jeff Spiegelman
    • Kurt Foreman, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Delaware Prosperity Partnership
    • Nelson Hill, Vice President of UFCW Local 27
    • Todd Lawson, Sussex County Administrator
    • Steve Chambliss, General Manager of the Christiana Mall
    • Taryn Delmasso, Head of Operations at Edgewell Personal Care
    • Chris Schell, Chief Executive Officer of Schell Brothers Homebuilding
    • Judy Diogo, President of Central Delaware Chamber of Commerce
    • Carrie Leishman, President & CEO of the Delaware Restaurant Association
    • Dick Willey, President of Perdue Agribusiness LCC