Office of the Governor

Compassionate Champion Award

compassionate champion award

The Compassionate Champion Award recognizes outstanding achievement by both individuals and organizations providing trauma-informed services. Delaware is committed to ensuring that environments that serve children and adults in our state are working to implement practices of trauma-informed care:

to create respectful, sensitive, and culturally competent environments;
to implement evidence-based trauma informed principles and practices that address the effects associated with trauma;
to develop a common language and framework for dialogue and discussion to enhance communication and progress along the continuum of trauma-informed care;
to increase the effectiveness and responsivity of all services and assistance provided to Delawareans, especially children and adults who have experienced traumatic circumstances.

The award is based on the criteria in the Delaware Developmental Framework for Trauma-Informed Care. It is important to note that progressing through the continuum of trauma-informed care implementation will take time and cannot be accomplished through a one-time action. This award recognizes those individuals or organizations that have taken steps toward providing services in a manner consistent with trauma-informed care outlined in the Developmental Framework.

Award Eligibility

  • Any individual, community partner, first responder, educational institution, and other organization providing services to Delaware’s citizens within the State of Delaware is eligible for nomination.
  • Nominees may nominate themselves or be nominated by other individual(s).
  • Nominees selected as award winners will be recognized through the press and at an awards ceremony in May.
  • Nominees’ names, photos, and nominator contact information will be made available for use to media and through various State of Delaware social media sites, unless the Governor’s Office receives written notification stating otherwise.

Award Categories

Government – This category includes whole agency, division, team, workgroup or individuals of Delaware State, county, or municipal governmental agencies/organizations.

Community Partners – This category includes organizations providing support services to individuals, families, and communities. For example, this category includes faith based organizations, medical and mental health providers, services to homeless families, veteran services, elderly, and crisis intervention.

First Responders – This category includes organizations such as fire, law enforcement, and EMT.

Education – This category includes universities, colleges, school districts, schools, early childhood centers, day care centers, and other educational institutions.

Other – This category includes other organizations that may not fit within the categories above.

How to apply


1. Review the Delaware Developmental Framework for Trauma-Informed Care.

2. Complete application form. Two ways to complete application: 

• Submit the application online using the webform below.

Download the application and submit by email ( or mail (Compassionate Champion Award, Office of the Governor – Carvel State Office Building, 820 N. French Street, 12th Floor Wilmington, DE 19801).

3. Submit application by April 1, 2019.

Awardees will be notified and an awards ceremony will be held in May 2019. 

Nominee Contact

 Individual    Organization

Nominator Contact

 Community Partners
 First Responders

Narrative Questions

Please answer the following four questions in 500 words or less for each question. If you choose to submit supplemental materials, they may not exceed five pages. All materials become property of the Office of the Governor, and will not be returned.

  • Level 1 - Trauma Aware
  • Level 2 - Trauma Sensitive
  • Level 3 -Trauma Responsive
  • Level 4- Trauma Informed

Examples: reviewed and changed policies, conducted awareness training to all staff, developed trauma sensitive programs, or have in place trauma responsive programs or initiatives. Please detail the quality of those activities.

a. If the nominee is identified as Trauma Informed, what are their plans to monitor continued attainment of this level of care?

Related Topics:  ,